Understanding the 4Cs of Diamonds

The common language for diamond grading is expressed as the 4Cs: color, clarity, cut, and carat weight.
It is important to note that a diamond's value depends on the combination of all four of these qualities.
This system of grading, established by the Gem Institute of America, ensures a consistent and efficient method for characterizing diamonds.
A diamond's cut refers to the way it allows light to be reflected from its surface to the human eye. It is the reason why a diamond can sparkle unlike any other precious element on earth.
white light it reflects
pattern of light within the diamond
scattering of light into colors of the rainbow
Because natural diamonds are made from intense amounts of pressure applied to carbon deep in the earth, it is natural for one to contain flaws.
INCLUSIONS are internal flaws & EXCLUSIONS are external flaws
clarity grades
Many inclusions and blemishes are too microscopic to be seen by the naked eye and require a jeweler's loupe or professional assistance.
diamond color
Diamond color is based on the presence or absence of pigment. An ideal diamond is perfectly white with no hue, optimum for light penetration.
 diamond color scale
 Diamonds can come in fancy colors such as blue or pink. These diamonds are more rare and are specifically sought after.
pink diamonds
carats heading
One carat equals 200 milligrams in weight. For diamonds under one carat, each carat is divided into 100 points – similar to pennies in a dollar. 0.75 ct. = 75 points, 1/2 ct. = 50 points.
carats and points
The 4Cs provide a way to objectively compare and evaluate diamonds, but numbers alone can't describe a diamond's mysterious and captivating beauty - for that, you will have to visit Sziro Jewelry and see for yourself.
more info
Independent and non profit, GIA developed the 4Cs and the International Diamond Grading System TM. Click below to download more information or visit GIA.org.